About our powwow

The University of Saskatchewan (U of S), situated on Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of the Métis, has hosted a powwow on its Saskatoon campus for almost 30 years. Since 2009, the powwow has been held in the spring to celebrate the academic achievements of graduating First Nations, Métis and Inuit students from the U of S and Saskatchewan high schools.

Everyone welcome

Thousands of children from kindergarten to Grade 12 attend our annual Graduation Powwow. Attendees have the opportunity to:

  • celebrate and honour Aboriginal graduates from Saskatchewan,
  • listen to traditional First Nations drumming and singing,
  • watch a variety of traditional First Nations dance styles and dress, and
  • participate in educational children's workshops held in tipis and a Métis Red River cart

Head staff

This year's masters of ceremonies are Donald Speidel and Elmer Ballantyne. Arena directors are Timothy Eashappie and Ron McNab. The Head Singing Judge is Alphonse Obey.

In partnership with



The Bowl, University of Saskatchewan

9:30 am High school graduates line up for grand entry
9:45 am Drum roll call
10 am Grand entry and honouring of high school graduates
11 am Youth dance and drum competition
12:30 pm U of S graduates line up for honouring
U of S graduates: please check in at the Registration table in the Bowl between noon and 12:30 pm
1 pm Honouring of U of S graduates
2–4 pm Adult dance and drum competition


Contact the Aboriginal Students’ Centre at 306-966-5790 or asc.powwow@usask.ca.

Register to attend

School groups and Grade 12 graduates

Students of all ages are welcome to attend the powwow! Please have one person from your school register all students who plan on attending the powwow, including any graduating Grade 12 Aboriginal students. Online registration will be available in April.

Drummers and dancers

Participants are invited to sign up onilne or in person the day of the event. All competitors 16 and over are required to provide a Social Insurance Number. Online registration will be available in April.

More than $20,000 in competition and day pay money

U of S graduating students

If you're a Métis, First Nations or Inuit U of S student, register to attend the Graduation Powwow when you apply to graduate in PAWS.

In April, all self-declared Aboriginal students who applied to graduate will be contacted by someone at the Aboriginal Students' Centre to confirm whether or not they are attending the powwow.

Powwow expo

The expo is a great opportunity for you to promote your organization and engage with powwow attendees, and for artisans to market their products. 

Register for a table online. 

Sponsorship opportunities

Sponsorship benefits

Becoming an official sponsor of the U of S Graduation Powwow places you in a unique position to:

  • showcase your organization’s commitment to celebrate First Nations, Métis, and Inuit scholarship, and
  • raise your organization’s profile and image among the campus and Aboriginal communities (more than 3,000 people in total).

For more information about getting involved with the Graduation Powwow, please contact Graeme Joseph by email at graeme.joseph@usask.ca or by telephone at 306-966-7287.