Graduate awards

The Graduate Awards Database lists all award opportunities the CGPS oversees. In addition, departments, colleges, and donors from outside the university offer awards throughout the year. Use the form below to find specific awards.

Each entry provides information about the funding opportunity - eligibility criteria, the application deadline and instructions for how to apply. Search by keywords (e.g., Indigenous, SSHRC etc.) to find opportunities. Most awards are open to both international and domestic students.

In addition to these awards, the University supports graduate students through teaching, research, and service fellowships and assistanceships. For these, contact your graduate chair or graduate administrator for details.

Tri-Agency Canada Graduate Scholarships - Doctoral Program

ValueVaries according to scholarship awarded
Number offeredDetermined by Tri-Agency

The Canada Graduate Scholarships - Doctoral (CGS D) program is a federal program of scholarships awarded through national competitions by the granting agencies: the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC).

Please review the eligibility requirements for these awards:

  • be a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada, as of the application deadline date
  • time in program varies depending on Tri-Agency, please see funding guidelines for further details
  • submit only one doctoral award application in a given academic year (nominations to the Vanier CGS program do not count towards this limit)
  • have not already received a doctoral-level scholarship or fellowship from CIHR, NSERC or SSHRC.

Refer to the Canada Graduate Scholarships - Doctoral Program for additional details on eligibility and application.

Please note:

NSERC applications will be considered for both the Postgraduate Scholarship-Doctoral (PGS-D) and the Canada Graduate Scholarship-Doctoral (CGS-D), with the CGS-D awarded to the highest-tier applications.

SSHRC applications will be considered for both the Doctoral Fellowship and the Canada Graduate Scholarships-Doctoral (CGS-D), with the CGS-D awarded to the highest-tier applications.

These awards have different eligibility requirements than the CGS-D level. Make sure you read the requirements for these scholarships at the links given above.


The CGS D program supports and promotes research excellence in a wide variety of disciplines and broad fields of health, natural sciences and engineering and social sciences and humanities, including interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary research.

Applicants should complete the agency application that is best aligned with their research subject matter to ensure that it is reviewed by experts in disciplines closest to their field(s) of study.


Online application

Application instructions


Online application

Application instructions


Online application

Application instructions

If you have any questions, please contact Graduate Awards & Scholarships.

DeadlineInternal deadline - October 11, 2022 at 7:00 pm CST

Other awards websites

The above search form only contains awards available to graduate students at the University of Saskatchewan. See below if you are looking for undergraduate awards or those offered by external agencies.