Graduate awards

Find scholarships and awards relevant to graduate students using USask's scholarships and awards database. You will find information on eligibility, deadlines and how to apply. Search for keywords like master's, doctoral, PhD, plant breeding, etc.

Tri-Agency Master's National Competition

Number offeredVaries

To be eligible to apply, you must:

  • be a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada;
  • be enrolled in, or intend to apply for full-time admission* to an eligible graduate program at the master’s or doctoral level at a Canadian university with a CGS-M allocation;
  • have completed, as of December 31 of the year of application, between zero and 12 months of full-time studies (or full-time equivalent) in:
    • the master’s program for which you are requesting funding; or
    • the doctoral program for which you are requesting funding, if you were admitted into a doctoral program directly from your bachelor’s program (you were never registered in a master’s program, or you are registered in a combined Master’s/PhD program); or
    • a master’s program, but are requesting funding for a doctoral program (an example is a student who is fast-tracked from a master’s to a doctoral program within 12 months of starting their Master’s and is seeking funding for the first 12 months of their doctoral program); and
  • not have previously held a CGS-M;
  • have achieved a first-class average (at the University of Saskatchewan, this is a minimum of 80%) in each of the last two completed years of study (full-time equivalent); and
  • submit a maximum of one CGS-M application per year (the Research Portal will allow the application to be submitted to up to three universities - refer to Application Procedure).

* Please refer to the Tri-Agency Award Holder’s Guide for details regarding part-time admission.


The Tri-Agency CGS-M scholarships provide financial support to high caliber scholars who are engaged in eligible Masters or, in some cases, doctoral programs in Canada (refer to Eligibility). This support allows these scholars to fully concentrate on their studies in their chosen fields.

The CGS-M scholarships support students annually in all disciplines and is administered jointly by Canada’s three federal granting agencies: the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC). The selection process and post-award administration is carried out at the university level, under the guidance of the three agencies. Students submit their application to the university at which they propose to hold their award via the Research Portal.


To apply to the CGS-M program, applicants must complete and submit an application using the Research Portal. Applicants should consult the Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master’s Program Instructions for Completing an Application. The Research Portal will instruct applicants to select up to three institutions where they intend to hold the award.

Applicants must only select institutions where:

  • they are currently admitted or enrolled full-time in an eligible program of study and intend to pursue their studies, or
  • they will apply for full-time admission to an eligible program of study by the deadline set for their intended graduate program.

For more information, contact Graduate Awards & Scholarships.

DeadlineThe call for applications for this award is distributed annually in the Fall term.

Other awards websites

The above search form only contains awards available to graduate students at the University of Saskatchewan. See below if you are looking for undergraduate awards or those offered by external agencies.